Program Archive 2020

Changes in Families, Relationships and Self-improvement in the Digital World

How may people build families, create relationships and get education differently in the Digital World? In conversation between Debora L. Spar, Professor and Senior Associate Dean (HBS Online), Harvard Business School; former President of Barnard College and former President and CEO of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; and, Boris Tsimerinov, CEO, Semper8.

Debora L. Spar

Professor and Senior Associate Dean (HBS Online), Harvard Business School

Debora Spar is the MBA Class of 1952 Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School and Senior Associate Dean of HBS Online. Her current research focuses on issues of gender and technology, and the interplay between technological change and broader social structures. Spar tackles some of these issues in her latest book, Work Mate Marry Love: How Machines Shape Our Human Destiny. Spar served as the President of Barnard College from 2008 to 2017, and as President and CEO of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts from 2017 to 2018. During her tenure at Barnard, Spar led initiatives to highlight women’s leadership and advancement, including the creation of the Athena Center for Leadership Studies and the development of Barnard’s Global Symposium series.  Before joining Barnard, Spar spent 17 years on the HBS faculty as the Spangler Family Professor as well as Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Research and Development. A prolific writer, Spar’s books include Ruling the Waves: Cycles of Discovery, Chaos, and Wealth from the Compass to the Internet (2001), The Baby Business (2006), and Wonder Women: Sex, Power, and the Quest for Perfection (2013).   Spar is a member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences and serves as a director of Value Retail LLC and Thermo Fisher Scientific, as well as a trustee of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She has also served on the boards of Goldman Sachs and the Wallace and Markle Foundations. Spar earned her Ph.D. in Government from Harvard University and her B.S. from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service.  She and her husband, Miltos Catomeris, are the parents of three grown children.

Boris Tsimerinov

CEO

Boris Tsimerinov leads Semper8 which currently consists of interconnected Semper8 Capital (an investment and advisory firm conducting family office private equity & VC investments; M&A and advisory projects; and, restructurings); Semper8 Health (start-up group, investment and advisory practice focused on healthcare; biotech; digital health; medical devices; and related sectors) and Semper8 Media (start-up group, investment and advisory practice focused on developing inclusive, innovative and thought-provoking content). He is also a global speaker, writer and educator.

Event details

English
Video
online
digitalswitzerland

Programm

Veränderungen in Familien, Beziehungen und Selbstvervollkommnung in der digitale

Wie können Menschen in der digitalen Welt Familien gründen, Beziehungen schaffen und Bildung anders erhalten? Im Gespräch zwischen Debora L. Spar, Professorin und Senior Associate Dean (HBS Online), Harvard Business School; ehemalige Präsidentin des Barnard College und ehemalige Präsidentin und CEO des Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; und Boris Tsimerinov, CEO, Semper8.

digitalswitzerland
Online
Englisch
Reportage

Speakers

Debora L. Spar

Professor und Senior Associate Dean (HBS Online), Harvard Business School

Debora Spar ist die MBA-Klasse von 1952 Professorin für Betriebswirtschaft an der Harvard Business School und Senior Associate Dean von HBS Online. Ihre aktuelle Forschung konzentriert sich auf Gender- und Technologiefragen sowie auf die Wechselwirkung zwischen technologischem Wandel und breiteren gesellschaftlichen Strukturen. Einige dieser Themen greift Spar in ihrem neuesten Buch "Work Mate Marry Love: How Machines Shape Our Human Destiny" auf. Spar diente von 2008 bis 2017 als Präsidentin des Barnard College und von 2017 bis 2018 als Präsidentin und CEO des Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. Während ihrer Amtszeit bei Barnard leitete Spar Initiativen zur Hervorhebung von Frauen in Führungspositionen und zur Förderung von Frauen, darunter die Gründung des Athena Center for Leadership Studies und die Entwicklung von Barnards globaler Symposiumsserie.  Bevor sie zu Barnard kam, verbrachte Spar 17 Jahre an der HBS-Fakultät als Familienprofessorin bei Spangler und als Senior Associate Dean für Forschung und Entwicklung der Fakultät. Spar ist ein produktiver Schriftsteller, zu dessen Büchern Ruling the Waves gehört: Cycles of Discovery, Chaos und Reichtum vom Kompass bis zum Internet (2001), The Baby Business (2006) und Wonder Women: Sex, Macht und das Streben nach Perfektion (2013).   Spar ist Mitglied der Akademie der Künste und Wissenschaften und fungiert als Direktor von Value Retail LLC und Thermo Fisher Scientific sowie als Treuhänder des Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Sie war auch im Vorstand von Goldman Sachs und der Wallace- und Markle-Stiftungen tätig. Spar erwarb ihren Doktortitel in Regierung an der Harvard University und ihren Bachelor of Science an der School of Foreign Service der Georgetown University.  Sie und ihr Ehemann, Miltos Catomeris, sind Eltern von drei erwachsenen Kindern.

Boris Tsimerinov

CEO

Boris Tsimerinov leitet Semper8, das derzeit aus den miteinander verbundenen Unternehmen Semper8 Capital (ein Investitions- und Beratungsunternehmen, das Family Office Private Equity & VC-Investitionen, M&A- und Beratungsprojekte sowie Umstrukturierungen durchführt), Semper8 Health (Start-up-Gruppe, Investitions- und Beratungspraxis mit Schwerpunkt auf Gesundheitswesen, Biotechnologie, digitale Gesundheit, medizinische Geräte und verwandte Sektoren) und Semper8 Media (Start-up-Gruppe, Investitions- und Beratungspraxis mit Schwerpunkt auf der Entwicklung integrativer, innovativer und zum Nachdenken anregender Inhalte) besteht. Außerdem ist er weltweit als Redner, Autor und Pädagoge tätig.

Hauptveranstalter

Hauptpartner